deutsch english


Back to overview

Suite breve

Violin and Guitar

Suite breve (1974) 10′
Violin (viola, flute, oboe)/Git further version for guitar duo
Premiere 1976 Cologne, Musikhochschule Anette Read, Wulfin Lieske‚Äč


The original 1975 title was qualified by ‘op 1’ in reference to what was to come. In terms of gesture the five-movement suite pays tribute to Ravel and Prokofiev. An early enthusiasm for Arabic-oriental rhythms and an expressive melodic sensitivity is echoed in all phases of my composing.
In 2016 I reworked this piece for a guitar duo. 

Audio sample

Music score